top of page
  • ashlynsullivan2000

Facing Adversity

Updated: Feb 23, 2022

Read below on a time I've been challenged the most with adversity and how I responded to it!



My Experience When Facing Adversity


The dictionary defines adversity as, "a difficult or unlucky situation or event." Which I think is interesting they use the word "unlucky" because I think it is actually lucky to be faced with adversity.


Why?

This creates an opportunity to prove to yourself and others that you are stronger than the situation handed to you. It's not often where your back is against the wall and the only way out by your own doing.


My Experience

March 2020 was the one of the very few times when all across the country, people were experiencing the same thing. COVID-19 lockdown. As Americans we were told to work from school, do school online, not travel, wear mask, and we were faced with adversity. Some people responded with having more kids, others getting on antidepressants, and very few responded with grit. Grit to power through the hardships of remote work or remote school. This is how I overcame adversity. When I was sent home from college in March 2020, I took it as an opportunity to soak in time with my family and focus on myself- professionally and personally. During quarantine, I spent my days networking with others and connecting with companies where I then landed my supply chain internship for during the school year. I also started training for a half marathon and reading books more. I focused on myself and bettered myself each day so when we came out of lockdown it was evident I did not waste my time being lazy or sulking in what could've been. We all reacted to the lockdown differently, yet I reacted to it with a desire to get better. That's how I overcame adversity, turning an unlucky experience into a lucky one. With problems come opportunities.

4 views0 comments

Kommentare


bottom of page